Special Note

Please continue to visit our website as new information will be added on a weekly basis.

Quick Links




highway in monticello



Citizen Boards

Boards & Commissions

The Mayor and City Council appoint all Boards, Commissions and Authority members.Citizens are welcome to attend any Board, Commission, Authority or Council meeting. The following is the list of the Boards, Commissions and Authorities of the City and their meeting times and places. For further information, choose the appropriate board from the menu above.

Planning & Zoning Commission
Commission meets 3rd Thursday of the month (as needed) at 7:30 p.m. in the City Government Complex.
5 members.
Qualifications: City resident.
Zoning Administrator: Peggy Billerman (706) 468-6062
Chairman: Randy Parker

DDA (Downtown Development Authority)

Authority meets 3rd Wednesday of each month (as needed) at 6:30 p.m. in the City Government Complex.
7 members, 4-year terms.
Qualifications: City resident, Owner/Operator of business in Downtown Development Area and resident of County, combination of qualifications of “a & b”. 8 hours of training in downtown development and redevelopment programs within 12 months of appointment.

HPC (Historic Preservation Commission)
Commission meets the 3rd Thursday of each month (as needed) at 6:30 p.m. in room 301 of the City Government Complex.
Qualifications: City resident and have a demonstrated special interest, experience or education in history, architecture or the preservation of historic resources.
Staff: Ken Kocher (706) 468-8834
Chairman: Charles Jablonski